Our Eclectic Christmas Tree Ornaments

Most years I try to photograph the Christmas tree after I get all the ornaments and lights put up and the ornaments never show up well. This year I shot them as they were laid out on a table before sticking them into the obscuring tree.

We have a very eclectic collection of ornaments from both our childhoods and comic book and Star Trek items I’ve been collecting for decades.

I started with these ceramic DC super heroes I found while working at Caveat Emptor in Bloomington, IN during the late 70s.

These are some small plastic gnomes and elves I’ve had since I was a child in the late 50s.

Long after the 70s super hero ornaments became much easier to find.

Since Hallmark started issuing the Star Trek ships we’ve been adding those, if we like the ship, we don’t have them all. Unfortunately I bought new light strings last year and the sockets no longer match the ships so they don’t light up this year.

My wife is a Marvin Martian fan and we got this tree topper when the WB stores were still open in Circle Center Mall.

2 Responses to “Our Eclectic Christmas Tree Ornaments”

  1. I had some success grafting new adapters to my old ornaments. If you have an old light set laying around and some new bulbs it’s not that hard to do.

  2. Shane Couch Says:

    I’m plotzing over those superhero ornaments from the 70’s.

Leave a Reply

